A Review Of Blogger

      Today I’ve decided to write a review of Blogger, after having used it for two years. That gives me plenty of experience to talk about it.

An Overview

      Blogger is a free blog builder built by Google. Lots of people use it, and it’s been around for years.

      With Blogger, you can do more than just start a blog. With it, people can follow your blog, you can create your own blog theme, view your statistics, etc. .And it’s free, which makes Blogger very awesome.

      Once you create a blog at www.blogger.com the first thing you’ll see is the dashboard. I really like the Blogger dashboard, which is shown below:

      I like the fact that you can see all your blogs, followers, pageviews, amount of posts, etc. right in the dashboard. This makes things easier for new bloggers, and for those who don’t have a lot of time to really learn anything. Navigation is easy, and I don’t find the dashboard too busy. I actually find the WordPress dashboard more confusing to navigate, and somewhat busy.

      One of the coolest features of Blogger to me is the reading list in the dashboard. With the reading list, you can add blogs you like to visit, and those blogs’ posts will show up the moment they’re posted right there in your dashboard. This is really cool. If you have a lot of blogs to keep up with, you won’t have to visit each individually anymore all the time to check for updates. Blogger doesn’t force you to choose from other blogs built with Blogger; you can get updates of blogs built even with WordPress, or almost anything else.

      I give the Blogger dashboard 5 out of 5 stars.

Posting

      I also like all the abilities you have when posting a post. You can customize your text nearly anyway you’d like. There’s different fonts to choose from, you can change the size of your text, you can also change the text color, and add something like a strikethrough or underline your text. You can also uploads photos, and even videos. There’s also an option to create a list, and add links. There’s even a spell check. All these features are shown below:


      Besides this, you can still do many other things such as scheduling a post. When you schedule a post, you choose the date and time for it to appear on your blog. This is good, if, for example, you know you’re going to be busy tomorrow, but still want your viewers to see something on your blog. You can write a blog post today, and your blog viewers will see it tomorrow.

      However, not everything is perfect when you’re posting something to Blogger. Sometimes, there are weird formatting issues, although most of these issues can be easily fixed in the “html” section if you know some code. I’ve also noticed problems sometimes when scheduling posts. Sometimes, when I schedule something, for example, tomorrow, it’ll post today. I don’t know why this happens, although I don’t see how it can be a huge problem, because it rarely happens, and is usually fixed within a few hours.

      Overall, I give posting with Blogger 4 ½ out of 5 stars.

      Tomorrow I’ll continue my review with a look at Blogger statistics and templates.

