The Origin Of April Fools’ Day



      Today I learned the origin of April Fools’ Day.

      In the 16th century in France, April 1st was New Years Day. Pope Gregory changed the calendar in 1562 so that New Years Day was on January 1st instead of April 1st. Lots of people didn’t know about this new calendar. Because they didn’t know, these people were called April fools by those who did know about the new calendar. Pranks were played on them, too.

      Today many countries do things for April Fools. In France, April Fools’ Day is called Poisson d’Avril, which means April Fish. On this day in France, children tape paper fish to eachothers backs, and when someone finds out what was done to them, the prankster yells Poisson d’Avril!

      In England, pranks can only be done in the morning. If a prank is done to you, you are called a noodle. In Scotland, when a prank is done on you you are called an April gowk, which is a name for a cuckoo bird.

      For April Fools’ Day I’m going to have fun pulling pranks on a lot of people. I will probably tell my mom there are ants in the kitchen, or I might yell, “There’s an 1,000 legger on the wall!” which I did last year. I will also probably tell some other people that I saw a UFO in the sky, or that there was a huge bird that almost picked me up. I also might say something like, “I reached 500 Pinterest followers!”

      To learn more about April Fools, visit:
http://www.kidzworld.com/article/593-april-fools-day

