Kodak Z990 Review

      Today I learned a lot about the Kodak Z990 camera after trying it for the first time, shooting pictures indoors and out. The Kodak Z990 is a 12 MP camera with 30x zoom.

      Although confusing at first, within a few hours I was able to capture amazing pictures. I love the electronic viewfinder and the brightness of the screen. The camera is also very fast. In less than four seconds the camera turned on, and moving from one setting to another takes less than two seconds. I was shocked that the pictures were in focus even when my hand was not steady. I also liked that I could see how much the batteries were charged on the camera’s screen, and that the camera box includes rechargeable batteries. Unlike the Samsung SL30, when I zoom in on something far away, the picture is still very detailed, and not blurry at all. The camera is great at night photography.

      There are only two things I don’t like about this camera. I don’t like that unless you add an SD card to this camera, you can only take about 11 photos before the camera’s internal memory becomes full. When I added the Sandisk 2GB SD card I was able to take nearly 100 photos without the batteries dying and with nearly half of the memory available. I also don’t like that I can’t directly upload a picture to social media websites such as Twitter and Facebook, but instead I have to connect the camera to my computer first and then upload pictures to social media websites.

      Here are some of the photos I took with the Kodak Z990 (click on an image for larger view):


This is an amazing detailed photo!


This is one of my favorite photos. Check out the amazing detail in this photo!


One of the first pictures I took with this camera is of this camera strap. I can’t even see this much detail in real life but I can with the camera.


This is another one of my favorite photos. Using the smart capture feature I was able to blur the front of the image so that the bookshelves in the background are the focus.

      This camera has a seemingly endless amount of settings. I can turn a picture into a black and white photo. I can can use the sepia setting to make it look like an old photograph. I can easily take a picture of a flower using the flower mode, pictures of children playing using a children mode, etc. There’s even a photo booth setting! With the photo booth setting, I can take four pictures at once and then the pictures are saved in a strip, just like the real photo booths. Unlike real photo booths, I don’t have to pay every time to take the pictures in a strip.

      The camera is also great because it can take photos in very high resolution. The pictures have a resolution of 480 dpi — that high quality means that I can take a picture and publish it in a newspaper or magazine. Most digital and mobile phone cameras produce images that are 72 dpi, which is fine if all you’re going to do is post them on the web.

      The Kodak Z990 is one of the best cameras I have ever purchased. I give it 5 out of 5 stars.

      You can learn more about this camera at: http://store.kodak.com/store/ekconsus/en_US/pd/productID.221644300

      The Kodak Z990 can be purchased here at Amazon.

