All about cameras

      Today I learned so much about cameras. I learned about megapixels, optical zoom, white balance and auto balance, etc.

      One of the important things I learned was about pixels. Pixels are dots that make a picture. If you zoom in on a picture with a small amount of pixels, you will see dots on the picture. How many dots? It depends. A megapixel is a million pixels. I prefer at least 10 megapixels for a picture, because pixels are one of the reasons why a photo would look like a quality photo. Some people say all you need is a camera with 5 megapixels.

      I also learned about the settings on a camera that control color in your image: auto balance and manual white balance. Auto balance automatically chooses what color settings to use. Cameras with auto balance won’t always take good pictures because the camera will not always choose the right settings. When a camera has manual white balance controls, you choose your own color settings, and that means that you will have a greater chance of getting a really good picture.

      I also learned about optical zoom. Optical zoom is what you use when you want to take a picture of something that is far. Let’s say you spot a butterfly and you want a picture of it, but if you get close to it, you might scare the butterfly away. With optical zoom you can get a picture of the butterfly, depending on the range.

      Another thing I think is very important is the camera’s focus. When a camera has bad focus, you will get a blurry picture all the time. When a camera has good focus, you get a clear picture. I experienced the importance of proper focus after using the Samsung SL30. I kept getting frustrated having to take the same shot ten times because the camera just couldn’t focus.

      I hope this helped you if you’re looking to buy a camera. You can learn a lot more about cameras at: http://www.theverge.com/2012/1/2/2663464/camera-buyers-guide

